News, Reviews

Flowers for Algernon

lab rats by frozensandstorm

lab rats by frozensandstorm

A/N: Being a fan of science fiction, I am always on the hunt for interesting reads and graphic novels. One that I came across yesterday was a short story by Daniel Keyes titled, “Flowers for Algernon.”

It was recommended to me by a friend when I asked him for the most romantic story he has ever read, that isn’t a love story. Needless to say, it exceeded my expectations.

“Flowers for Algernon”, in my opinion, is a story about the romantic tension of emotion versus intellect. Admittedly, there are many times in my life in which I have knowingly drowned myself in blissful ignorance, as it allowed me to blindly accept inconsistencies, hypocrisies and wilful manipulations. Now that I’m more exposed to magic, I now understand that our need to deny, whether or not we are aware of it, is a defence mechanism to misdirect.

So without further ado, I present to you Flowers for Algernon by David Keyes, winner of the Hugo Award for Best Short Story in 1960, and inspiration of the award-winning movie, Charly.

Read the full story here.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Flowers for Algernon

Leave a Reply

