Day to Day Poetry

Day to Day Poetry #26

I’ve lived in a prison all my life.
I am trapped inside my own mind.
A mind that dictates euphoria I can never understand,
and misery I can’t keep down.

But it isn’t too bad,
because I am not alone.
Everyone’s made a prison of their own.
Living inside 9 to 5 office jobs to pay for a house
they never stay in.

I am locked behind a mind that follows me not;
This four-walled trap is all I’ve ever known.
I wonder what it’s like to be powerful enough
To decide when to be happy or sad –
to face the notion of ending up being yourself
with comfort and content,
not fear and panic.

Standard

Leave a Reply

