Day to Day Writing, Uncategorized

Day to Day Writing # 29

I love the way you lean towards me, your body slightly tilted to the right, shoulder caving in, only a couple of inches from where I stand, and you feel my nervous breath against your ear as I stutter my words out, incomprehensible, strewn together awkwardly, in a mumbled mess, physical manifestations of my own cowardice and anxiety of simply being beside you, and the way you finally move away, as the curve of your back straightens once more, and you give me a polite smile that tells me you couldn’t decipher what I was saying in the first place, because of my thick accent that arises every time you saunter around with that distinctive gait that can only be yours, I can hear you walk a mile away, those slow, shuffled steps, hands in pockets, a curved back and eyes that look at you from below delicately furrowed eyebrows, and a sing-song sigh of exasperation – every time – and that sweet, soft smile that you give – your substitute for a soft-spoken “hello”, “hey”, an acknowledgement that you’re aware of my existence even for a mere second that I embrace for days and days to come – and yet you smile, despite all this, despite of me, despite completely missing all of what I’ve said, despite misunderstanding me – you smile, and I am happy.

Standard

Leave a Reply

