Day to Day Poetry, poetry

Day to day poetry #52

I felt it fizzle,
Slowly losing spark in sunless days,
In the middle of a snowstorm
I watched the fire that used to burn so fiercely inside me
Slowly die in silent persistence,
A whisper so soft it might as well have been missed,
On the second floor of a dimly lit bar I heard her sing,
Her voice shocking me back to reality,
And directing me to the undeniable realization
That you loved her,
The thought of which humbled me.
I thought deciding to stop loving you would be more painful than this,
More eventful than this,
Never could have imagined nor foresee
That I would give up
So easily.

Standard

Leave a Reply

