Day to Day Poetry

Day to Day Poetry #53

Every time I have to write something that’s hard
a lump forms in my throat
and my stomach tightens –
my head starts aching and it doesn’t stop,
and it throbs along with the pounding on my chest.
Most of the time I solve this problem by closing Microsoft Word
and never looking back,
but inside I know I’ve given up.

It happens so rarely that I go back and finish what I started.
Each attempt is a panic attack.
Each story is a battlefield.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Day to Day Poetry #53

Leave a Reply

